Autar Kaw is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of South Florida, Tampa.  Professor Kaw obtained his B.E. (Hons.) degree in Mechanical Engineering from Birla Institute of Technology and Science, India in 1981.  He received his Ph.D. degree in 1987 and M.S. degree in 1984, both in Engineering Mechanics from Clemson University, SC.  He joined the faculty of University of South Florida, Tampa in 1987.  He has also been a Maintenance Engineer (1982) for Ford-Escorts Tractors, India, and a Summer Faculty Fellow (1992) and Visiting Scientist (1991) at Wright Patterson Air Force Base.

Professor Kaw’s main scholarly interests are in engineering education research, bridge design, thermal stresses, engineering software, computational nanomechanics, and fracture.  His research has been funded by National Science Foundation, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Florida Department of Transportation, Research and Development Laboratories, Systran Co, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, and Montgomery Tank Lines. 

He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and a member of the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE).  He has written more than forty journal papers and developed several software instructional programs for courses such as Mechanics of Composites and Numerical Methods.

He has authored textbooks on Mechanics of Composite Materials, and Introduction to Matrix Algebra, and co-authored a book on Numerical Methods with Applications. He is also a contributor to the MaterialsnetBase, an online library of material science texts, references, and handbooks.

Professor Kaw received the Florida Professor of the Year Award from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and Carnegie Foundation for Advancement of Teaching (CFAT) in 2004, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Curriculum Innovation Award in 2004, Archie Higdon Mechanics Educator Award from the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE) in 2003, State of Florida Teaching Incentive Program Award in 1994 and 1997, American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE) New Mechanics Educator Award in 1992, and the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Ralph Teetor Award in 1991.